The India vs Sri Lanka Super Four clash in the Asia Cup 2025 ended in dramatic fashion, with India edging past their rivals in a tense Super Over finish. However, the game wasn’t short of controversy. A major talking point erupted when Sri Lankan skipper Dasun Shanaka, seemingly run out during the Super Over, was declared “not out” by the third umpire—leaving Indian fans furious and sparking heated debate across cricketing circles.
The Controversial Moment
In the high-pressure Super Over, Shanaka attempted a risky second run. The throw from the deep was sharp, and replays clearly showed that the bails were dislodged before Shanaka’s bat appeared grounded behind the crease. While Indian players celebrated what they thought was a decisive dismissal, the third umpire stunned everyone by ruling him “not out.”
Why Was Shanaka Given Not Out?
According to ICC playing conditions for T20I matches, a batter is considered safe if any part of the bat or body is grounded behind the crease line at the exact moment the bails are removed. In Shanaka’s case, the third umpire adjudged that although his bat was airborne while sliding, the toe of his shoe was touching the crease line fractionally when the stumps were broken.
This microscopic detail—barely visible in real-time—was enough to save the Sri Lankan captain under the laws of cricket.
Indian Fans Left Fuming
The decision immediately triggered outrage among Indian supporters, who felt Shanaka was clearly short of his ground. Social media exploded with reactions, with hashtags like #RunOutControversy and #AsiaCup2025 trending. Many fans accused the third umpire of inconsistency, citing previous instances where batters had been given out in similar circumstances.
Experts Weigh In
Former cricketers and analysts offered split opinions. Some defended the umpire, stressing that the decision was made strictly within the rules. Others argued that technology should be applied with “common sense” in mind, pointing out that the visual evidence strongly suggested Shanaka was short.
One former India player remarked, “This is where cricket needs clarity. Rules may say one thing, but the spirit of the game says another.”
What It Means For The Tournament
Though India eventually won the match in the Super Over, the incident added yet another layer to the heated drama of the Asia Cup 2025. Controversial umpiring calls have been a recurring theme in this edition, and Shanaka’s “not out” moment will likely remain one of the most debated decisions of the tournament.
The Bigger Picture

The controversy highlights the fine margins in modern cricket, where fractions of a second and millimeters of space can decide outcomes of high-stakes matches. As India marches into the final, the debate over Shanaka’s survival will continue to echo—reminding fans that cricket is not only a game of skill but also one of interpretations and split-second judgments.